Memoir Project: Part 2, Surviving

Surviving Dyscalculia* (A Nonet)

Say it three times and it must be true.
A few more times should make it nine.
So take care how many times
you call me dimtwitted
‘cause after three times
I’ll prove that threes
can’t add up
either.
Hmm!

Surviving Ridicule

I’m the shiniest tool in the box,
a few bricks short of a load,
one sock spare to a pair,
at least that’s what you told
everyone
everywhere
who joined in this chipping away.
I’m one sandwich short of a lunch,
one ray short of a sting,
a few teeth short of a smile,
at least that’s what you’d say
to everyone
everywhere
Although I never believed a word of it
from anyone
anywhere.

Poetic Form: Nonet
Written for Poetic Bloomings Prompt #67 “Look What I Did!”
http://poeticbloomings.com/2012/08/05/look-what-i-did-prompt-67/

*Dyscalculia is a form of dyslexia that focuses on numbers and numerical memory problems.

2 thoughts on “Memoir Project: Part 2, Surviving

  1. Misky, I love both of these, especially the rhythm and rhyme patterns of the second one.

    And HOLY COW. I have called it “Numbers Dyslexia” my whole life, and people thought I was either joking, or a little nuts. I had no idea it had a real name. The symptoms list on Wiki suits me to a T. I am absolutely floored. And grateful. You are not alone, my friend.

Your comments are very much welcome!

