The I Want List

I Want
Chocolate,
Hot fudge sauce,
Sweet dark cherries,
A yellow KitchenAid mixer,
A long weekend in Rome,
To Wrap my arms around my grandchildren,
To be rid of this long lingering head cold,
A nice big bowl of clam chowder with crushed oyster crackers,
Homemade ice cream melting down my wrist,
A weekend tryst with my husband,
To lend my heart to someone who’s had theirs broken,
To gather courage to start a university course,
To believe that perhaps I am a little bit smart,
To dry and press a flower for every tear I cause,
To thank friends who support me when my load is too heavy,
To include those who pray for me in my own prayers,
To be thankful for all my blessings and gifts of friendship,
Because I am want for nothing, if truth be said.

Written from Margo’s prompt: I Want Tuesday Tryouts

9 thoughts on “The I Want List

  1. “To lend my heart to someone who’s had theirs broken,”

    and…

    “To dry and press a flower for every tear I cause,”

    your last line, too…

    you have a great balance of light and heavy wants, Misky.

    This was written well.

Your comments are very much welcome!

