Little Girls, Leotards and Yellow Cards

Little girls, bubbling with surprises,
Little girls, who proudly show their prizes.

. “Look, Nana, look what I got at school today!
. I got a yellow card! Isn’t it pretty?”

Nana smiles, so filled with love –
but still not so sure that this
prize is such a good thing.

  . “Silly, Nana! Of course, it’s a good thing –
. see, it’s pretty; like the colour of lemons!”

But why, Nana wants to know,
did you get such a lovely yellow card?

  . “Oh…’cause I didn’t do what my teacher
. wanted me to do.” She waved the card
. above her head, “But isn’t it pretty?”

And off she twilled in her pink leotard,
showing me a pirouette that she’d
recently learned. Yes, little girls
are bubbling with surprises.

.

Written for Margo Roby’s Tuesday Tryout: Your Inner Child

12 thoughts on “Little Girls, Leotards and Yellow Cards

  1. This is so sweet, Misky. ;) This little one obviously knows one of my favorite quotes: “Women who behave rarely make history.” ;)

    Real quick, typo in second to last stanza. Should read “Isn’t it pretty?”

    Love this take on the prompt!

  2. Delightful. I was lucky I suppose to have had sons…as I vowed that if I had a girl I would never put her in a leotard. I think because the ones I was made to wear never did fit quite right…
    I also adore the quote from De…I refuse to behave! But then as of yet I haven’t made history either :)

    Thanks for your visit and kind words.

Your comments are very much welcome!

