Mini Shirley Temple

Mini Shirley Temple

My mother loved
Shirley Temple
Like I loved
Cheeseburgers.

Not that she wanted
To eat her up;
More like she was part
Of her childhood.

So when I came along
With my long black hair
My mother knew exactly
What she should do.

She twirled my hair into long
Lengths of cotton, round ‘n
Round to dry into tight
Ringlets of curls. I was her
.

.

Mini Shirley Temple

Poetic Bloomings “Mama Mia” prompt #78 for the Memoir Project. To join in the fun go http://poeticbloomings.com/

Your comments are very much welcome!

