Squirrelling Away Adverbs and Adjectives

Squirrelling Away Adverbs and Adjectives

The tea is very good, says Tyler,
and he sips like a siphon.
Today he’s setting spacers,
little tight Xs, between tiles.
He cuts each rectangle 
to fit
corners around the tub,

angles where I kept my adverbs
and adjectives in ample supply.
My emergency rations conjured
during long bathes,
bastions of bubbling soaks,
where I squirrelled away words

like meaty nuts to chew on later.
So I set my mind to thinking,
where are the new corners
of poetic inspiration,
where are the inspired gaps
for hiding my nutty words.

.

Miz Quickly Day 16: Change the Feel of It

7 thoughts on “Squirrelling Away Adverbs and Adjectives

  1. I like it. Still seeing our squirrels – not so bushy in the tail, old wives tales say the fluffier the tail the colder the winter. But then the paper the other day said they had no clue for predictions this year as it has been a tad off kilter. Which sometimes inspiration is!

    If we were to ever redo our bath, the one with the bath – I think the only way to make it deeper would be to replace the tub itself. While it, I guess is deep enough for me – there are no tiles…just that free form plastic wall… Because our fireplace runs up through the middle of the house the only way to enlarge that space would be to take space away from our room which isn’t all that big. So that probably won’t be done. I’ll live.

    Nutty words, yet soothing :)

Your comments are very much welcome!

